the universe of the words

“If I read this sentence, this story, or this word with pleasure,it is because they were written in pleasure (such pleasure does not contradict the writer’s complaints). But the opposite? Does writing in pleasure guarantee –guarantee me, the writer- my reader’s pleasure? Not at all. I must seek out reader (must “cruise” him) without knowing where he is. A site of bliss is then created. It is not the reader’s “person” that is necessary to me, it is this site: the possibility of a dialectic desire, of an unpredictability of bliss: the bets are not placed, there can still be a game”
 “…what I enjoy in a narrative is not directly its content or even its structure, but rather the abrasions I impose upon the fine surface: I read on, I skip, I look up, I dip in again. Which has nothing to do with the deep laceration the text of bliss inflicts upon language itself, and not upon the simple temporality of its reading.”  Roland Barthes, The Pleasure Of The Text
This entry was posted in UK and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

